No. 1 Medical Education
Consultants in India

You are Here Home >> Universities >>> Nanjing Medical University
Nanjing Medical University
Soochow University
Jiangsu University
China Medical University
Jilin University
Southeast University
Weifang Medical University
Sun Yat-Sen University
Zhejiang University
Huazhong University
Yangzhou University
Dalian Medical University
Nanjing Medical University (NMU), founded in 1934, is one of the top institutions of higher learning in China. As the name suggests, NMU is located in Nanjing, one of the four ancient Chinese capitals, a city which was a cultural, political and economical center in southern China and is currently the capital of Jiangsu province and an economical center in the Yangtze River Delta. Nanjing Yangtze River Bridge (the first combined bridge designed and built by the Chinese), the Nanjing Harbor (the largest inland one in Asia), Nanjing Lukou International Airport (35.8 kilometers away from the city center,with 85 domestic and international routes) and countless highways and railways make the city a traffic hub and its traffic easy and convenient. Mountains, water, ancient walls and green woods complement Nanjing’s beauty and richness. Small wonder Dr. Sun Yet-sen spoke highly of her: “With all the beauties of high mountains, deep lakes and vast plains integrated in one, Nanjing is certainly unrivalled and unique in the world.” With respect to the number of universities, Nanjing ranks third in China, just after Beijing and Shanghai.

NMU consists of 16 secondary schools and 1 independent school. They are School of Basic Medical Sciences, School of Public Health, the First School of Clinical Medicine, the Second School of Clinical Medicine, the Third School of Clinical Medicine, the Fourth School of Clinical Medicine, Gulou School of Clinical Medicine, School of Stomatology, School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, School of Nursing, School of Medical Policy and Management, School of International Education, College of International Studies, School of Continuing Education, School of Higher Vocational and Technical Education and the independent institution: Kangda College.

NMU runs 16 undergraduate programs, 2 six-year dual bachelor’s degree programs, 3 seven-year programs, 55 master’s programs, 35 Ph.D. programs, and 3 post-doctoral research stations. In addition, NMU has 3 national key disciplines, 12 provincial key disciplines. NMU has 20 affiliated hospitals and over 40 teaching hospitals in Nanjing, Suzhou, Wuxi, Changzhou, Huai’an, Shanghai, Hangzhou and Qingdao.

NMU offers a variety of teaching programs for over 15,000 students every academic year, ranging from undergraduates to doctors, full-time students to adult learners, Chinese students to international students.

NMU has a strong faculty team of 1501 registered faculty members, including 159 full professors, 344 associate professors, 132 supervisors of doctoral programs and 386 supervisors of master’s programs. NMU has 1 key laboratory co-established by the ministry and provincial government, 4 key laboratories at ministry level, 8 provincial key laboratories and research centers.

In recent years, NMU has launched an extensive exchange and cooperation with national and international higher institutions. The university has established bilateral and academic relationship with medical schools and scientific research institutions in USA, Canada, Britain, Germany, Japan, France and Australia. Some prestigious experts and scholars are conferred Nanjing Medical University honorary or guest professorship. Meanwhile, it has regularly sent teachers abroad for long-term study or short-term visits. Since 2002, the university has resumed enrollment of international students and students from Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan. At present, the total number of international and HMT (Hongkong, Macao and Taiwan students is over 500.
School Facilities:

NMU comprises two campuses: Wutai campus and Jiangning campus. The former, about 80,000 sq.m in size, only five minutes’ walk away from downtown center Xinjiekou, is the center of research and graduate education. The latter, about 980, 000 sq.m in size, located in Jiangning University Town, is the center of undergraduate education. Subway and buses make its traffic very convenient. For the first three years, international students will study in Jiangning campus and then they transfer to Wutai campus to complete their study for another three years.

The library of NMU, as a medical center of JALIS and an integral part of Engineering Documentation and Information Center of Jiangsu Province, is abundant in medical literature. Our library is also a member of Chinese Higher Medical and Pharmaceutical Libraries, the kernel library of Jiangsu Medicine and Pharmaceutical, center of Jiangsu Higher Medical Literature and the Class 1 Consultation Station for retrieving literature in Chinese academic journals. Each campus has one library. The one on Wutai campus has two communicated buildings, 9000 sq.m in size.
Jiangning library was put in use in 2007, 25,000 sq.m in size, with 3000 seating capacity. By the end of 2006, the libraries have altogether 5,700 paper journals and 40,000 digital journals either in Chinese or in foreign languages. Besides, there are more than 620,000 paper books and 610,000 e-books stored here. The books are mainly in the fields of basic medicine, clinical medicine, preventive medicine and pharmaceutics, and books in biology, chemistry, mathematics, physics, computer science, management, social science and literature are also included.
Sports Facilities: 

Football fields, basketball courts, tennis courts and modern gymnasium are available to all students.